top of page

Personal Reflection: Michael Palacios


To start off, I would like to say that I was a bit hesitant about this STF topic since I wasn’t really dedicated to this topic nor did I really know what this topic really was. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a very interesting topic but a part of me was unsure of this topic. I went to go and talk with Samuel about this topic and he said that there could be an aspect in which I was able to dedicate myself in, which he was right; it was human health. Before we even started researching we all split off into different aspects of light pollution which were economy, ecosystem, animal health and human health. I chose to research the aspect of human health and light pollution because that is something that interests me and i’m dedicated about. My goal when I grow up is to become a doctor and getting this aspect kind of excited me because I was going to learn new things about the human health die to my research which I did.

During my research I have learned several things on how light pollution is able to affect human health. At first I got stuck on my research because I was only able to find a 1 or 2 articles about my aspect until Kevin and Omar came and presented their STF to us. They told us on how we were able to research and how to contact stakeholders etc. This helped a lot getting me back on track on research and using google notecards(for some) to make my research organizable and neat to be able to share with my group. Every Wednesday we would go over all our research, how we were able to connect it so it would be be organized and make a plan for that day whether it being getting in more research done, working on the website, or looking for stakeholders to contact.

With that being said, some research that I have gathered so far is light pollution is able to affect human health by increasing the risk of breast cancer, obesity, it disrupts circadian rhythm, depression etc. It is able to do this because light pollution is able to decrease the amount of melatonin in our bodies which disrupt our circadian rhythm which in turn causes a chain reaction of other problems. I was totally shocked on how a simple object was able to affect us humans at this great of an extent but at the same it interested me because I was learning new things of the human body. Once I finished with my research, I started to work on my articles and I tried to make them as information packed as I could, trying to put as much information I have gathered on my aspect.

In overall, I believe that our group is strong and doing well with everyone working hard on each of their aspects. I would also like to add that I am glad that I was able to find something I am passionate about in this topic, something that is closely related to my dream/goal and also for my other teammates as well since they all chose something they are passionate about. I hope to go as far as we can in this STF project and do as much as we can, hopefully being able to do it again next year.

bottom of page