top of page

Personal Reflection: Emil Roy


When I started off this project, I knew that I needed to do something that I was really dedicated about. One of the things that I am really interested about was astronomy. I was really dedicated to stars and space, since those are two things that really interest me. I met up with Samuel and saw that we two had really similar interests, and that is when I first joined up with the group. Last year, I did my STF about the interest of kids for science and math, and of course I really liked that topic but over the course of the year, I learned that you either need to start really young, or you might not be able to do much later on in a child’s life. It was too hard to really find a good root cause of it, rather than that they didn’t like it or it was too hard. However, for light pollution there are some definite solutions and causes that you can easily find out about. Of course, I knew a little about what light pollution is and some of the obvious causes, however I did not know of any the effects that it caused. Throughout the course of this whole project, I learned many of the harmful effects that it not only causes to humans, but to the ecosystem and the economy itself.

When we first started off our project that included me, Samuel, Aries, Michael, and Eduardo we first needed to look for the issues with light pollution. We branched off into different areas of light pollution, things like ecosystem, economy, human health, and animal health. We tried to break off into different aspects of this. Eduardo taking ecosystem because he does care of the environment, because his last years STF was about recycling. Michael took human health because he aspires to be a doctor someday. Aries took animal health because she is really passionate about what happens to animals. And of course, me and Sam chose economy because we really did want to know the major issues that light pollution has on the economy and how to help fix it.

We first started off by creating the website and then researching thoroughly about our topics. I was sent to the task on how to help the issue with light pollutions so I started off with my 5 why’s. One major reason for light pollution is the bright blue-white lights that go off at the sky at night for no apparent reason. I knew that people themselves not suddenly all stop using their lights at night, so I went off to find a more reasonable way to help solve light pollution. I looked up the different types of light bulbs to see if there was just a problem with those themselves and that is when I got to the topics of LEDs’, CFLs’, and incandescents. I learned on how each work, but also how LEDs’ are the best for the environment. After I found that out, I continued my quest in looking for ways to convince the readers to buy these lights so they can help out reduce light pollution. There were a number of ways that LEDs’ are better than the other two, but most people get intimidated by the first price tag, not knowing the long term benefits. It was of course not the most interesting thing to research about, but I knew that with what I was looking up, it can help the stars that I’m passionate about. I hope that through the remaining time in this project I learn much more things about the causes and effects of light pollution, and most likely not help solve it, but at least making a dent so that we all can see the stars better.

bottom of page